I read previous reviews from two years ago and assumed they must have fixed it by now. These sell for about $5 in electronics stores, so for 50 cents it was worth the risk.
I have the same problem all others cited. The 3.5mm plug does not seat properly. For me, it's not even intermittent it no longer works at all. It worked the first time I plugged in, but not the second or subsequently. So for me its lifespan was one insertion.
I've purchased from Monoprice before and they're good about returns. I'm sure they'll offer to exchange or refund this, but for 50 cents it's not worth my time to pack and send it back. It's in the trash. They have a similar product with a metal jacket for a few cents more, but it's probably made by the same manufacturer. I won't bother with that one either.
Monoprice: Most of your products are good quality. I've purchased other adapters, cables and other items from you that worked properly. But you should do at least some simple testing of products before you put them online. With 100% bad reviews, obviously no one has had any luck with this one. Because of the price I almost didn't want to waste my time writing this review. I'm sure others just tossed theirs too and didn't bother to complain. But I thought you need to know there is a problem with this product so you can stop selling it and hurting your brand reputation.
After receiving this adapter, I found the 3.5mm side to be very loose. I tried various 3.5mm plugs, both stereo and mono, none would stay in the jack. I contacted monoprice, they agreed to send me a replacement, but flat out refused to check the item before shipping the replacement. Siting their shipping system is automated. When questioned what happens if the replacement is also bad, I was told they would then log a note to the engineers to have the batch checked. Well guess what, my replacement adapter was also loose. It's a little better, but I doubt it'll stay in the jack over time. I'm not going to bother with another replacement for a 48 cent item.
CONS: The 3.5mm side is extremely loose, the plug falls out just from gravity alone.
Thank you for your review and my apologies for the issues you have experienced with PID 7240. A shame this didn't work out for your needs.. I will be sure to pass this info along to our product team so they can look into the matter further. Thanks for your support and sorry again for any inconvenience this may have caused. Should you have any questions, feel free to contact us!
Regards, Jonathan Arteaga Tech Support Associate ------------------------------------------------------------------
November 18, 2016
pid 107240 rca to 3.5 mm mono adapter don't work. AS ADVERTISED!
Tried to return it and was handed off to tech support supposedly to get an rma number. I explained to them that adapter did not work, I know because I have another one exactly the same and it works fine. Tech support kept asking stupid questions instead of giving me a rma number. went back to customer service they were courteous and friendly. but they informed me they only accept returns for 30 days.
Tech support should be trained by customer service on being courteous and friendly and tech support needs to learn from customer service how to be helpful instead of condescending. One man's opinion .