6ft SATA External Round Cable - eSATA to eSATA (Type I to Type I) - UV Blue
    Product # 3943
    6ft SATA External Round Cable - eSATA to eSATA (Type I to Type I) - UV Blue
    Product # 3943
    In Stock This item will ship on 10/24/2016 if ordered within 1 days 21 hours 29 minutes

    Volume Pricing (Log In to see Member Pricing)

    Volume Pricing

    Qty: 1 $7.25
    Qty: 2-9 $7.00
    Qty: 10-19 $6.75
    Qty: 20-49 $6.50
    Qty: 50+ $6.25

    To see and take advantage of our member pricing sign up for a business account or contact our sales team.

    Learn more about Monoprice Business

    6ft SATA External Round Cable - eSATA to eSATA (Type I to Type I) - UV Blue

    Designed to connect from eSATA port (I type) to eSATA port (I type)
    Cable for external use
    Safe Data Transfer
    Support speed up to 3Gb/s
    EMI protection
    Flexible cable
    ROHS compliant - no hazardous substances used
    Serial ATA (SATA) replaces Parallel ATA (PATA, a.k.a. IDE) as the new standard for high speed, reliable data transfer between your computers motherboard and storage drives.  SATA provides faster data transfers, less clutter due to a more compact cable, leading to better in-case air circulation and ability to hot swap connections.
    First generation SATA is generally referred to simply as SATA, but is also known as SATA 150 or SATA 1, has a thoughput of 1.5 gbit/s.  It is an internal interface that uses "L" type connectors.  They are referred to as "L" connectors because if you look at the female connector head on, it has a sideways "L" shaped slot.  The male connector has an "L" shaped tongue.
    Second generation SATA is known as SATA  3 Gbps but commonly referred to as SATA 2 and sometimes SATA 300.  It supports a 3.0 Gbps transfer rate and also uses the "L" type connector.  SATA 2 cables are backward compatible with first generation SATA devices.  However, maximum throughput will be limited to the least common denominator.
    To go with the newer SATA interface, SATA drives usually employ a new 15 pin power connector as oppose to the older 4 pin Molex power connectors used on older system.  However, some drives will have both types of connections for ease of installation into legacy systems.
    Here's where it can get confusing.  For use with external devices, eSATA was developed with a completely different type of connector.  eSATA uses "I" (letter i) type connectors because, as before, if you look at the connector straight on, there is an "I" shaped slot or tongue.  Not to be confused with SATA 1 (#1) which some manufacturers will label SATA I (roman numeral i) which tends to confuse some users.  So a cable that is labeled as having type "I" connectors are for eSATA and not SATA 1 cables. 
    eSATA has a maximum bandwidth of 3.0 gbit/s, same as SATA 2.  But along with the new connector type, it also calls for a shielded cable.  Though it has a faster transfer speed than USB 2.0 and Firewire 400/800 it has a shorter maximum range of 2 meters.

    34 Reviews

    84.71% of the reviewers recommend this product


    Untrustworthy eSata cables

    • Anonymous,
    •  Ann Arbor, MI 
    • 8/26/2014 2:11:05 PM

    Pros: Cables are pretty color of blue.

    Cons: These cables did not provide a useful connection to 2 eSata ports on RAID 5 drives that are part of my system. The RAIDs were Mediasonic, the interface card on my motherboard was the following: "IO Crest SATA III 2 Port Internal and 2 Port eSATA III PCI-e 2.0 x 2 Controller Card with Low Profile Bracket (SI-PEX40063)

    Neither drive would work with either of the cables connected to the above eSata card. However the cables did work between the RAID and the motherboard's single eSata port (ASRock Extreme Z77 4).

    So, naturally, because these cables didn't work with what I wanted, they are of no use to me. Ergo, the basement rating.

    Was this review helpful to you?


    • Anonymous,
    •  Silver Spring, MD 
    • 6/27/2014 5:27:58 PM

    Pros: It's flexible and would be a nice cable if it worked.

    Cons: Didn't work.

    by Monoprice Administrator

    Thank you for your review. Can you please let me know what problem you have encountered with this cable? Thank you!

    John Lingo
    Tech Support
    Was this review helpful to you?

    Does not work for me

    • Goobee,
    •  Duarte, CA 
    • 3/11/2014 7:19:30 PM

    Pros: Nice blue color
    6 feet length
    Round cable

    Cons: Doesn't work

    I replaced the 3 foot cord on my RAID box with this one and turned everything on. Drive not seen. I turned everything off, reseated both connecters and turned everything back on. Nothing. I reinstalled the old 3 foot cable, works again.

    I usually have good luck with Monoprice cables but this one is a dude. It seems other people have had issues with this cable as well. It's not worth the gas to drive back down to Monoprice to exchange so lesson learned for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?


    • Anonymous,
    •  New York, NY 
    • 1/10/2014 11:34:40 AM

    Pros: 6 foot cables are great, 3 foot tend to be too restrictive. Easy to see.

    Cons: Does not work reliably. I've had a number of issues connecting drives using these cables across a number of Mac Pros and PCI-e cards that work with eSata, such as the SIL3124 card and the CalDigit FASTA-6GU3 combination eSata and USB3 card. I swapped to a different, shorter cable and had no issue getting the drive to show up.

    Do not use these cables if you want to reliably access your drives. I've tried multiple cables, multiple cards, and multiple Mac Pros. In all cases, I could trace an issue with mounting the drive to this cable. I will be throwing all of ours out and ordering from another vendor. I love Monoprice overall but will never order this cable again.

    by Monoprice Administrator

    Thank you for your review. And I am truly sorry to hear of your experience you have had with this product. For now, if you prefer, I can assist you in setting you up for a replacement on the item if you haven't done so already. We do have a lifetime warranty on cables as well as a 1 year warranty for everything else. It will be of no additional cost to obtain a replacement, so please let me know if you want to continue. I would just require your order# to set it up. Alternatively, if you are truly unsatisfied of the item I can assist you in setting up a return. Thank you!

    John Lingo
    Tech Support

    Was this review helpful to you?

    great product - great price

    • mcunix,
    •  colorado springs, CO 
    • 8/4/2012 8:56:04 PM

    Pros: Does exactly what it's supposed to do. I've run several hundred GB over in the last month without a hiccup.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Tax and shipping will be calculated at checkout