Chat Now
4-Bay NAS Enclosure, up to 16TB (4 x 4TB) with RAID, DLNA, and FTP
Add to Wishlist +
Out of Stock ETA: TBD
- -

Due to limited supply, all products are sold on a first-come first-serve basis.  Auto Notification does not guarantee either availability or price. All prices are subject to change without notice.

*Your information will only be used to notify you when this item becomes available. Carrier charges may apply for SMS text messages.

4-Bay NAS Enclosure, up to 16TB (4 x 4TB) with RAID, DLNA, and FTP

Why pay other people for a small amount of cloud storage when you can create your own cloud, up to 16TB in size, using this 4 Bay, 16TB Network Attached Storage RAID Enclosure from Monoprice!

This 4-bay enclosure features a Gigabyte Ethernet interface for up to 100 MB/sec (1000 Mbps) data transfer rate across your network. It has a built-in 150 watt power supply, so it can easily handle up to four 3.5" SATA III (6.0 Gbps) drives with capacities up to 4 TB each (not included). It is controlled by a 1GHz APM82181 processor with 512MB of DDR-2 RAM and has a built-in RAID controller with support for JBOD, RAID 0, RAID 1, and RAID 5. The drives are installed using hot-swap trays, so you can replace a defective drive without having to take the system down.

It supports the Samba, AFP, NFS, FTP, HTTP, and iSCSI protocols and can be accessed by Windows®, Mac®, and Linux PCs, as well as remote access using an iOS® or Android® app. Three USB 2.0 ports on the back allow you to connect flash drives or printers to extend the functionality of the enclosure. It supports the Printer Server function and can be configured to accept up to 1024 individual user accounts, with the ability to set user quotas.

A backlit LCD display makes it easy to setup and configure the enclosure and to create RAID arrays with installed drives.


  • Cloud storage accessible over the internet with SSH security
  • Compatible with Windows, Mac, and Linux computers
  • Supports IPv4, DHCP Client, UPnP, and Bonjour networking
  • Supports hard drive S.M.A.R.T. feature
  • Supports Windows Active Directory® Client
  • Supports the Samba, AFP, NFS, FTP, HTTP, and iSCSI protocols
  • Supports Apple Time Machine
  • Functions as a printer server
  • Supports up to 1024 users and 256 groups
  • 3x USB 2.0 ports for connecting printers and flash drives
  • 2x 10/100/1000Mbps Gigabit Ethernet ports
  • Built-in 150 watt power supply and 80mm, 2400 rpm cooling fan

This is an enclosure only. Drives are NOT included!

Apple, Mac, Time Machine, and iTunes are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.

Microsoft, Windows, and Active Directory are registered trademarks of Microsoft Corporation.

IOS is a trademark or registered trademark of Cisco in the U.S. and other countries and is used under license.

Google and Android are registered trademarks of Google, Inc.

RAM 512MB (DDR-2)
Hard Drive Support 4x 3.5" SATA 6.0Gbps (SATA III)
RAID Level RAID 0, 1, 5, JBOD
Host Interface 2x Gigabit RJ-45 Ethernet(1 for Hub)
Expansion Ports 3x USB2.0 (for Pen Drive & Printer)
Supported Protocols Samba, AFP, NFS, FTP, HTTP, iSCSI
Supported Operating Systems Windows, Mac, Linux
Security SSH
File System (Internal HDD) Ext4
File System (External USB) NTFS, XFS, FAT32, FAT16, Ext2, Ext3, Ext4
Networking IPv4, DHCP Client, UPnP, Bonjour
Supports Hard Drive S.M.A.R.T. Yes
Supports Windows Active Directory Client Yes
Supports iSCSI Yes
Personal Cloud Server Syncbox
Mobile Access Apps iOS, Android
Multilingual Support Traditional Chinese, Simplified Chinese, English
Korean, German, Russian
Multimedia Server iTunes®, UPnP
Supports Apple Time Machine Yes
Download Station Bitorrent
Printer Server Yes
Maximum Users 1024
Supports User Quotas Yes
Maximum Groups 256
Online Firmware Update Yes
NAS Discovery Tool Yes (Windows Only)
LED Indicator Data access, Alarm, Power on
Hardware Monitor System Temperature, Fan
Cooling Fan 1x 80mm, 2400 rpm
Buzzer Yes
Power Supply 100 ~ 240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 150W
LCM Monitor System Information
Dimensions 8.3" x 4.9" x (212 x 125 x 168 mm)
Weight 8.2 lbs. (3.7 Kg)

Package Contents:

  • 1x NAS RAID enclosure
  • 1x Software CD
  • 1x Quick installation guide
  • 1x RJ45 cable
  • 1x AC Power cord (NEMA 5-15 to IEC 60320 C13)

7 Reviews

40% of the reviewers recommend this product

  • Anonymous,
  •  Colorado Springs, CO 
  • 4/10/2015 8:52:30 AM

Pros: Cheap

Cons: First unit fail within days. The second unit took 2 months to fail just long enough to trust it with data.
It is very loud.
Software is clumsy

If you order one these and it breaks be sure to get a refund and not an exchange because a refund will not be possible after 30 days

by Monoprice Administrator

Thank you for your review and truly sorry to hear about the issues experienced with PID 11157. I see that you have already setup another RMA. I will be sure to submit a complaint on the enclosure so our product team can look into resolving this issue or making the product better. We appreciate your feedback! My apologies again for any inconvenience this may have caused. Should you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Gabby Villa
Tech Support Associate
Was this review helpful to you?


  • Randyn,
  •  Santa Clara, CA 
  • 2/19/2015 6:22:57 PM

Pros: Low Price.

Cons: Dead out of the box!!!! 2 Times..

Was able to get my first NAS working after much tweaking. Thought that I could get a second one working and it would not boot up. The instructions said that it would beep a few times after booting, would never get that far. Sent it back and got a replacement for second one . After putting in the 4 new 2T hard drives. I could not get it to boot also!

Was this review helpful to you?

No Time Machine Support & Noisy

  • Andy,
  •  ,  
  • 2/16/2015 5:34:07 AM

Pros: Price

Cons: 1. No Apple Time Machine Support
2. Runs very loud - Not a really issue for me as it will be in a rack but could be issue for general home office user

by Monoprice Administrator
Hello Andy,

Thank you for your review! If I may ask, can you elaborate on the issues experienced when trying to use Apple Time Machine? Please let me know along with details on the full setup so we can look into this further. The NAS enclosure does support Apple Time Machine so it should be working. I also wanted to note that the fans can be replaced if the noise becomes a problem for your setup. So if you wanted to swap it out with a fan that has a built-in switch for different speeds, that would be fine. My apologies for the trouble and I hope this helps!

Gabby Villa
Tech Support Associate
Was this review helpful to you?

Alpha quality software spoil what seems like nice hardware

  • Brian Excarnate,
  •  Hoover, AL 
  • 1/13/2015 10:01:42 PM

Pros: Compact
Relatively inexpensive
Uses lots of FOSS
Uses ext4 for the drives (versus some unsupported-outside-the-vendor format)
Has gig ethernet (speed untested)
Drives go in easy
Front panel display
Beep controllable (untested)
iSCSI (untested)

Cons: Can't handle common characters in password such as $
Old versions of software, often from 2011 and 2012
Latest firmware is over a year old (abandonware?)
Changed password doesn't always work right away (admin user, had to restart NAS to get back in)
Configuring users for NFS knocked over an AFP mount
Saw less than half of 20K songs in iTunes after a day, on startup after being shutdown, it sees less than 400.
After configuring NFS mounts, showmount -e only shows the public mount
No https
Only 1 of the 2 ethernet ports can be used on the same network unclear what the other port is usable for
Cracked English throughout
Loud fan
Overall clumsy software

I really want to like this, but the software is old and not well integrated and it is alpha-quality. The hardware seems nice enough, I realize it may not be the fastest CPU but for the price and capacity it really seems like something that would be good for users with more advanced needs. But the lack of https, and login troubles and overall alpha quality to the software make this a product that just isn't ready.

I've contacted both Monoprice and RAIDON (what it really is under the Monoprice label) and I'll see what they say.

by Monoprice Administrator
Hello Brian,

Thank you for your review. I will pass forward this information to a product development team so they know what to look for in a future product. For now, if you are unsatisfied with the item did you want to see if you are able to return it? Just let me know the order# and I can check for you. Thank you!

John Lingo
Tech Support

by Brian Excarnate
Hi John,

I really appreciate the attentive service from Monoprice, and on my Amazon review I listed "Monoprice" as a pro. However I purchased it from Amazon and even though I purchased it at nearly half the current price I've returned it to them and am seeking something that better meets my needs.

If the firmware was updated with much more current versions of the core software, and most of the bugs worked out, I'd very much consider purchasing it again even if it wasn't as slick as other products as the hardware seemed quite solid and appropriate to the task, and I do prefer the use of FOSS (Free Open Source Software) and the use of ext4. The device absolutely has promise and I hope y'all can bring that out.
Was this review helpful to you?

Not quite sure

  • Anonymous,
  •  Barrington, IL 
  • 1/3/2015 8:15:54 AM

Pros: Compact size. Expandable. Easy to get up and running.

Cons: Shipped with a blank CD (instead of the installation software). The software that you need to use the NAS was not on the disk. Still waiting for Monoprice to replace it.

The feature available for the price are a good value. The unit was easy to use. We just installed 4 drives and then logged in to the unit and had it up and running within 20 minutes. Unfortunately the CD that was supposed to contain the software to use all the features, was blank. Equally unfortunate is that none of the needed software was available on the their website. I contacted Monoprice support, and a new disk is supposed to be coming my way, so I can't completely evaluate the functionality until the disk arrives.

by Monoprice Administrator

Thank you for your review and truly sorry to hear about the issues experienced with PID 11157. I will be sure to submit a complaint regarding the blank disk to our product team so they can look into this issue further and hopefully make the software available online. Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated! My apologies again for any trouble and should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us!

Gabby Villa
Tech Support Associate
Was this review helpful to you?
Tax and shipping will be calculated at checkout